Festivities for 2024 Serie del Caribe tournament starting early in Miami

Baseball fans can get a head start on the hoopla surrounding the 2024 Serie del Caribe.

On Saturday, April 29, loanDepot park in Miami — home of the Marlins — hosts the Serie del Caribe Celebration marking the first gathering of the six participating teams in next year’s popular tournament: Dominican Republic, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Venezuela and the two new invited teams, Curaçao and Nicaragua.

The festivities include an introductory press conference and an exhibition game, with Hall of Famer Vladimir Guerrero and shortstop icon Omar Vizquel tossing the ceremonial first pitches.

“International baseball brings an unmatched energy and passion that we are excited to experience once again in 2024 as the first MLB venue to host the Serie del Caribe,” said Marlins Chief Commercial Officer David Oxfeld.

“In addition to the incredible atmosphere seen at the World Baseball Classic and each Saturday at our Heritage Celebrations, we are excited to get the party started and reveal the final two participating teams for the upcoming tournament.”

Among the current All-Stars and Hall of Famers who have played in the Serie Del Caribe games are Jose Altuve, Ronald Acuna, Jr., Luis Arraez, David Ortiz, Salvador Perez, Tony Perez, Iván Rodríguez and Fernando Valenzuela.

The Tigres del Licey of the Dominican Republic are the reigning champs after winning their 11th Serie del Caribe crown in 2023.

Tickets for the Serie del Caribe Celebration are available at marlins.com/Tickets.