Caribbean Series — Serie del Caribe — boasts a rich and prideful history

Cangrejeros de Santurce of Puerto Rico (at one point featuring future Hall of Famers Orlando Cepeda, top left, and Bob Gibson, top right) won Caribbean Series titles in 1951, 1953 and 1955. By Beto Villa and Robert Dominguez Unlike the World Series in the U.S. every October, the Caribbean Series — Serie del Caribe — is a true international tournament that each winter pits the top teams representing six Latin American countries to determine a champion after a round-robin set of six games.  Not to mention showcase a wealth of talent by players born outside the U.S. The tournament, which

By |January 24th, 2022|Caribbean Series, History, News|

Dominican domination: D.R.’s Toros del Este are 2020 Caribbean Series champions

By Robert Dominguez The Dominican Republic added to its status as the Yankees of the Caribbean Series — with a little positive mojo from Red Sox icon Big Papi — by winning its 20th title in the tournament’s 62-year history with a dominating 9-3 victory over Venezuela.  It was the first-ever title for the Toros del Este from La Romana, which finished the Series held in San Juan, Puerto Rico, with a dominating 6-1 record. Venezuela’s Cardenales de Lara was overmatched from the start of the Feb. 7 final played at Hiram Bithorn Stadium. The Caribbean Series, which ran Feb.

By |February 8th, 2020|Caribbean Series, News, Photos|

2020 Caribbean Series to feature 3 games a day in San Juan, Puerto Rico

By Robert Dominguez Let’s play three! The Caribbean Series’ return in February 2020 will give fans a chance to enjoy a daily triple-header of tournament games. The Series, to be played next year in San Juan, Puerto Rico’s Hiram Bithorn Stadium, will again feature top teams from Mexico, Cuba, Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Panama and Puerto Rico. All six clubs will play every day, a first for the popular Series. The games are set to start Saturday, Feb. 1 with a 10 a.m. tilt pitting Cuba against Venezuela. The round-robin tournament continues until Friday, Feb. 7, when the final between the

By |December 11th, 2019|Caribbean Series, News|

Panama is surprise winner of 2019 Caribbean Series with win over Cuba

Panama turned out to be the accidental host with the most. A last-minute choice to hold the 2019 Caribbean World Series due to safety concerns over original host country Venezuela’s ongoing political strife, Panama became the tournament's unlikely champion. The Toros de Herrera outlasted the five other teams in the series and won the title with a crisp 3-1 win over Cuba at Estadio Rod Carew in Panama City on Feb. 10.  It was the first Serie del Caribe championship for Panama since 1950, when the international tournament pitting the best teams from Latin America was only in its second

By |February 11th, 2019|Caribbean Series, News, Videos|
Go to Top